Running duplicate checks in team sequences

Learn about the different levels of the deduplication setting and how to disable duplicate checks on individual sequences.


Interseller can run a duplicate check across your team to warn you if duplicate contacts exist across you and your teammate's sequences.

The owner or manager of the team can enable the team's contact deduplication setting. At least one email step must be added to the sequence in order to trigger the deduplication check. 

Dedupe checks only run once when contacts are added to a sequence. To rerun a duplicate check, it's best to create a new sequence and add contacts into the new sequence.


There are 4 options for the deduplication setting:

Off - Do not deduplicate
This setting turns off deduplication entirely. We will never warn you when a duplicate contact exists in your teammate's sequences, including if they were messaged, booked, or have replied to their sequences. 

Low - Contact is actively being messaged
The low setting will warn you if your teammate's sequences have messages to send to the same email address. A dedupe check will not trigger if sequences have no email sequence steps or if they are archived. 

Medium - Contact is being messaged or has been messaged
The medium setting will warn you if your teammate's sequences have messages to send to the same email address. We will also warn you if they have ever received a message from any of your teammates regardless of whether the sequence is active or archived.

If they have never received a message or not about to, you will not be warned. A dedupe check will not trigger if sequences have no email sequence steps or if they're archived. 

High - Contact exists in another sequence
The high setting is the most extreme setting which is set to warn you whenever a contact has ever been added to any of your teammate's sequences, even if it's been archived. Email steps don't need to be added in email sequences in order to trigger a dedupe check. 

If the setting is set to either Low, Medium, or High, a dedupe check will run for contacts who have been booked or have replied to any of your teammate's sequences.


Disabling duplicate checks across multiple sequences

You can disable duplicate checks for individual sequences within the sequence's advanced settings. If you'd like to set this up, please reach out to our team to enable this feature.

You can toggle on the "Disable Deduplication" setting. This will not run a duplicate check across your own sequences, your teammates' sequences, and any connected integration. To enable this setting, open up the sequence's settings and navigate to the General tab. This setting will appear within the Advanced Settings section.

It's important to enable this setting first before adding any contacts to the sequence to prevent a duplicate check from running. If the deduplication setting is set to low, medium, or high, and then contacts are added, a duplicate check will run for the sequence.

Note: Each user can adjust their individual deduplication settings

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us