Assign groups to users on a team

Learn how to assign groups to users on a team.


Assigning users to group is a great way to add structure to your team account and keep your team’s sequences organized.

Important things to know

  • Only managers and users can be assigned to groups. Owners cannot be assigned to groups.
  • Managers who are not assigned to a group can assign other users to a group. 
  • Managers who are already assigned to a group can only invite other users into their group. They cannot assign users to groups outside of theirs or remove users from other groups.
  • Each group can only access and view shared sequences with other teammates who are a part of their group. This includes the reporting data in the Reports dashboard. 
  • Users who are not assigned to a group can view all shared sequences across the team, including those part of a group. 
  • If teammates are using a shared folder and are part of different groups, they won't be able to see each other's sequences.
Note: Since this feature is still in beta, each user will be able to see which groups everyone is assigned to from the Team page.

Assigning users to groups

To assign groups to users, follow these steps:

  1. In the Team page, select a user to assign a group to and click on the down arrow to open the drop-down menu.
  2. Select "Assign Group" in the menu.
  3. In the Assign Group pop-up, select a group to add the user to. You can always change the group later by clicking on the drop-down menu again.
  4. After selecting a group, click "Confirm" to save.

Note: If you're interested in using this feature, please reach out to our Support team to enable this for you.
Did this article answer your question? Thank you for your feedback! There was a problem submitting your feedback. Please try again later.

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us