Using Interseller with Bullhorn

Learn how the integration works between Interseller and Bullhorn.

In this guide we'll cover how to:

Adjust default sync settings
Adjust sync settings at a sequence level
Disable syncing
Enable and disable deduplication
Track email activity
Set up custom field mapping

Interseller's integration with Bullhorn allows you to automatically sync contacts and email activity into Bullhorn whenever they're added to a sequence on Interseller.

If this is your first time connecting to Bullhorn, you'll need to follow the steps in this guide here first to get in touch with Bullhorn's support team so you can receive the API credentials to set up the integration

If you or your teammate have already gone through the steps above once, you can skip over it and follow the steps below to connect Interseller to Bullhorn. 

To connect Interseller to Bullhorn, you can visit the Integrations page and select Bullhorn from the list.

You'll need to log into your Bullhorn account and grant Interseller permission to access your Bullhorn data. 


Adjusting the default sync settings

After Bullhorn is connected to Interseller, you can choose to sync contacts as a " Candidate", "Lead", or "ClientContact". You can choose how all contacts sync over from Interseller to Bullhorn by selecting one of the following sync options:

  1. Off - Contacts will not sync over to Bullhorn
  2. Sync contacts when added to a sequence - Contacts will sync over to Bullhorn when they are added to a sequence
  3. Sync contacts only when they reply back - Contacts will only sync over to Bullhorn when they reply to a sequence

Adjusting the sync setting per sequence

You can override the default sync setting for each individual sequence. To adjust this setting for each sequence, open up the sequence's settings and select the sync option from the drop-down menu in the "Sync As" section.

It's important to select whether contacts sync as a "Candidate", "Lead", or "ClientContact" in the sequence first since this can't be re-synced if contacts are added first and then a sync option is selected for the sequence at a later time.


Disable syncing sequences to Bullhorn

You can also disable syncing individual sequences over to Bullhorn by toggling on the "Disable Sync" feature in the "Syncing" tab within the sequence's settings.

If you do not want contacts to sync over to Bullhorn, you will need to make sure this setting is enabled first before adding contacts into the sequence.


Enable/disable deduplication for Bullhorn

You can toggle on the "Deduplication" setting for Bullhorn to be warned if a contact already exists in Bullhorn. This will mark the contact with the error "Exists in Bullhorn" if we find the same email address already exists in Bullhorn prior to being added into Interseller.

If deduplication is turned off, then we will not warn you if the contact already exists in Bullhorn.

Below are two common scenarios of when a new contact record will be created and when it won't be created when the contact has synced over to Bullhorn:

  • If the same email address exists in both Bullhorn and Interseller, a duplicate contact record will not be created in Bullhorn.
  • If there are two different email addresses for the same contact (one in Bullhorn and one in Interseller), a second contact record will be created with the second email address when they sync over from Interseller to Bullhorn.

Email Activity Tracking

You can sync the email activity for contacts over to Bullhorn when you toggle on the "Activity Tracking" setting.

We recommend setting up the integration first before emailing contacts since email activity cannot be backfilled if contacts were messaged before Bullhorn was connected.


Custom Field Mapping

You can also customize how the field mapping from Interseller syncs over to Bullhorn. These settings are an advanced feature so we only recommend customizing them if you're familiar with setting this up. If you need any assistance with setting up the custom field mapping, we recommend reaching out to a member of our support team.

If you see any integration errors regarding custom field mapping, feel free to get in touch with our team and they can help you out further.

Note: If a contact has synced over to Bullhorn and the custom field mapping has been later updated on Interseller, it will not re-sync the contact over to Bullhorn with the updated custom field mapping. It will only apply to new contacts added after the update.

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us